survivingmyboyz

tales from a stay-at-home mom of four boys

Unplanned, not so spontaneous, scheduled births

As much as I like to think that I like to be spontaneous and carefree, I’m not. I’m a “what are we doing tomorrow? What’s the plan? I need a schedule of what to expect” kind of girl. That being said, I totally didn’t schedule to have a son every two years exactly.

Now, when I say exactly, I mean, to the day. Okay, so only my two youngest share a birthday, my oldest was born the day before their birthday. I know what you are thinking, we’ve heard it before, everyone knows when my husband and I like to “get it on”, but I swear, that’s not necessarily true. My first son was born on the due date that his first (and supposedly most accurate) ultra sound gave. My second son showed up a week late. I was so worried that I’d be in the hospital for my oldest’s birthday, but my second child was kind enough to arrive late and to wait until my oldest was safely tucked into bed before sending me into labor. He also had the common sense not to share his brother’s birthday, after all, that might start him off on his brother’s bad side. My youngest, we joked, should have come the day after my second child’s birthday so we could have three in a row, but he wasn’t actually due until a couple of weeks after the older two’s birthdays. I was excited to finally have a kid in a different month. My youngest, on the other hand, had other plans. He didn’t want his birthday to be an after thought after celebrating the other two birthdays, the youngest often gets forgotten as it is, so he decided to show up early. Despite my denial, I labored all day on Thanksgiving, which was my oldest son’s birthday that year. Even when the contractions got bad, I insisted it was false labor because it was too soon and I wasn’t going to be in the hospital for my second child’s birthday. Well, I finally had to admit it was real and rushed to the hospital around 1:00 am, an hours past my oldest’s birthday, and just an hour into my middle child’s birthday, and wouldn’t you know, baby number three was ready to arrive.

It will be interesting to see how my third reacts to sharing his birthday this year and how things will play out as the years go by and we celebrate three birthdays within 48 hours, it will certainly be expensive. My husband and I are done have kids, but if we were to have an “accident”, I’m sure it would be another boy and he’d be born, a day after the middle two’s birthday just to bookend things. So, just to be sure, next year, when our usual conception time comes around, we’ll be extra careful so we don’t get any surprises add to our already busy schedule nine months later.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

