survivingmyboyz

tales from a stay-at-home mom of four boys

So it begins

And so it begins; potty training round two! My two and a half year old, who has taken to running around naked more often (probably because it is summer and he constantly thinks he is going to get wet) decided the other day to actually pee on the potty when I told him to go sit on it. Not too long after, he ran, completely unprompted, to the potty and pooped. I made a big deal about it with lots of shouting, dancing, high-fiving, and prizes given in hopes that he will continue on this route.

Since I’m not yet ready to set aside a full three days necessary to do the boot camp with him, I’m just kind of taking my cues from him and letting him go short periods of time with no diaper while reminding him to go and try sitting on the potty occasionally. I’m really hoping that doing this for a second time around with be easier for several reasons. First, I have a better idea of what I’m doing and what worked the first time. Secondly, I’m hoping that the fact that he wants to copy everything his older brother does right now will work to my advantage in this case. Lastly, well, I just can’t have it take as long as the first time, so it just has to go faster and be easier (isn’t that a valid reason?). In the meantime, I’m sure there will be plenty of not so funny at the time, but really funny in retrospect stories to follow. Wish me luck!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

